# The Irish Mathematics Learning Support Network

## **Constitution**

#### Name:

The Irish Mathematics Learning Support Network hereinafter called the Network.

## **Objectives:**

The aim of the Network is the promotion and development of mathematics learning support throughout the island of Ireland.

## **Membership:**

The governing body of the Network will be the membership in general meeting. All those present at the meeting on the 16<sup>th</sup> of December 2011 will be ordinary members. (Thereafter any person may apply to the Treasurer for membership.) The election of a member will reside with the Committee whose decision will be made at the first committee meeting following the receipt by the Treasurer of the proper application and relevant fee for membership.

Membership will be classified as follows: Institutional members Honorary Members Ordinary Members Student members

#### **Officers and Committee members:**

The Committee who will be elected from the members at the Annual General Meeting will conduct the business of the Network.

No member should serve more than six years continuously on the Committee.

The committee will meet at least twice a year.

Co-opting a member agreed by a majority at a committee meeting can fill vacancies arising through the year.

The Committee will be made up of a Chairperson, Secretary, and Treasurer and six ordinary members.

The officers of the Network committee will consist of:

### **President\Chairperson**

The President will preside at all meetings of the Network.

The President will use his/her office to promote the interests of the Network and will be the official spokesperson for the Network to outside bodies.

### **Secretary**

The Secretary will take minutes of all committee and general meetings.

All correspondence to the Network will be addressed to the Secretary who will redirect it to the appropriate member or attend to it and report to the Committee.

The Secretary will prepare and circulate the Agenda for meetings.

#### Treasurer

The Treasurer will keep proper books of accounts for the Network.

The Treasurer will receive, account for and deposit all cheques and monies in suitable current or deposit accounts.

The Treasurer will maintain an accurate register of all members of the Network.

#### **Finance**

The funds of the Network, including all donations contributions and bequests, shall be paid into an account operated by the Committee in the name of the Network at such bank, as the Committee shall decide. All cheques drawn on the account must be signed by at least two members of the Committee.

All funds belonging to the organisation can only be used in furthering the aims of the Network.

#### **Fees**

The incoming committee will set annual fees.

## Meetings

### **Annual General Meetings**

An Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held within 15 months of the previous AGM. Nominations for the committee may be made to the Secretary before the meeting or at the meeting.

Business to be transacted at the AGM will be as follows:

Confirmation of minutes of previous AGM or any Special General Meeting held since previous AGM

Reports on activities of the Committee during previous year Treasurer's Annual Report

Election of Committee

Election of Committee

A.O.B.

## **Other General Meetings**

A Special General Meeting open to all members will be held if 10 or more members submit in writing a request for such a meeting to the Secretary. The Secretary will arrange for the meeting to take place within 28 days.

#### **Notice for all General Meetings**

All members will be notified in writing at least two weeks before the date of the meeting giving the agenda, venue, date and time of meeting.

## **Quorum for Meetings**

The quorum for all General meetings will be 8 members.

The quorum for committee meetings will be four

## **Changes to the Constitution**

The constitution can be altered at an AGM or General Meeting. The constitution must be reviewed at an AGM every two years. Any suggested changes must be handed to the Secretary 21 days before the GM. Changes must be agreed by two thirds of the members present at the meeting.

**Constitution** originally adopted on 16<sup>th</sup> December 2011, amended at the GM on 23<sup>rd</sup> February 2015.

Ratified by

Ciarán Mac an Bhaird (MU), Ciarán O'Sullivan (IT Tallaght), Ann O'Shea (MU), Niamh O'Meara (UL & NCE-MSTL), Olivia Fitzmaurice (UL), Richard Walsh (UL), Anthony Cronin (UCD), Cormac Breen (DIT), Eabhnat Ní Fhloinn (DCU), Brien Nolan (DCU).